Student Reviews

Reviews for Charleston Self Defense Academy Goose Creek, SC

"THE PERFECT FAMILY ACTIVITY!"

“Finding Martial Arts has been an incredible gift for me and my daughter. Being able to train together, practice together, compete together, is an opportunity we haven’t found anywhere else. It’s a perfect family activity!”
Reviews of Martial Arts Lessons for Kids in Goose Creek SC - Mom and Daughter Review Profile
Angela Ba (Omega)
student and mom
IMPROVE GRADES

“Since I put my son into Martial Arts, he’s learned self-discipline and respect; his grades have gotten a lot better, and he’s become stronger and a more mature young man. Martial Arts is the best investment I’ve ever made for my son!”
Reviews of Martial Arts Lessons for Kids in Goose Creek SC - Dad and Son Review Profile
Cliff McCutchan (Joshua)
student dad
"ENJOY SPENDING TIME TOGETHER."

“Since we’ve been working out as a family in Martial Arts, I’ve noticed that my health and happiness have improved tremendously. My children’s confidence has improved, and as a family we enjoy it and enjoy spending time together.”
Reviews of Martial Arts Lessons for Kids in Goose Creek SC - Family Dad and Kids Review Profile
Jeff Herrin (Jett & Skylar)
family
KZ Russ
2020-11-11
I absolutely love this gym. It has such a homey and family friendly vibe; it's made me feel a lot less homesick after I moved here. I've done the boxing, judo, jujitsu, and self defense classes and I'm never disappointed. The instructors are all well spoken and very knowledgeable (both within the specific classes and in general questions regarding techniques and muscle development & pain management). I love the idea that they had to use the day time as a child care/virtual schooling area and another thing that really stood out to me is the care that they take regarding safety in the kids classes. One specific example being how the instructor (Rob) was checking the technique on their falls and while doing the throw, it was both slow enough for the child's size and he also supported their head/neck throughout the movement then provided feedback on how they could improve. Lisa and Rob have a really good crew and do a great job with the gym! Covid: They do take temperatures and record them at the door. I've also seen them stream classes for some people that weren't comfortable coming in, though that may be something you have to ask for specifically. I'm not 100% sure.
St Sebastian
2020-09-02
Best game in town for Boxing, Judo, BJJ and Wrestling. Also HIIT and Xtreme Hip Cardio step classes.
Manuel Valderrama
2020-07-04
Great gym, great instructors, so much fun and everyone is nice
Aaron Hawk
2019-09-17
I have known the instructor here for many years and I have a ton of respect for him. He teaches the best krav maga classes in the area. The gym is set up very well with lots of space to move and very safe and clean. I highly recommend them!
Felicity Patrick
2019-05-24
This place is great! Our daughter is doing the judo class and she loves it. The instructor is amazing and is great with the kids! Keep up the great work!
Jazimen Wiggins
2019-04-27
Great space and atmosphere me and my two kids and husband attended this gym we love gives us things to do outside of work plus it’s a great workout for all of us we love this place I would recommend kids and adults to sign up ASAP
Sondra Urton
2019-02-04
These guys are awesome with children. My 4 year can't stop talking about her classes.
Crystal Urton
2019-02-02
My four year goes here! This place is just amazing! They are very good when it comes to the children! I love how great they work and teach the children exspecailly the younger children!! I'm very glad that I allowed my child to go this center! They are amazing people here!!
Moe G
2019-01-17
Great professional place!!!! So glad I found them!!!
Jenna Kpack
2019-01-03
The gym has some great instructors who are very knowledgeable about the programs they offer! The program that I favor is the kids and adult judo class. The instructors are all very well versed in what they teach and are versatile with the variety of age groups they work with (young children up to adults). They also make it feel more like a community than just a fitness/self defense class. It is nice seeing how they come together to teach the art and culture, and how to do things the right way to avoid injury. The only thing I dislike about the gym is that some classes aren’t consistent with the staff members. Even in those cases, they all are on the same page and very skilled. Otherwise it’s a pretty good gym! The owner knows just about every student’s name and makes a fairly welcoming atmosphere.
"I CAN DEFEND MYSELF."

“Ever since I started Martial Arts, I have the confidence that I can defend myself.”
Review of Martial Arts Lessons for Adults in Goose Creek SC - Review Profile Mom
Lani Johnson
student
"MORE CONFIDENT, ENERGETIC, AND HAPPY!"

“Ever since I started Martial Arts training I’ve become more confident, energetic, and happy! If I can do it, you can do it.”
Reviews of Martial Arts Lessons for Adults in Goose Creek SC - Young Adult Review Profile
T’iana Rick
student
"GAINED CONFIDEGoose CreekE"

“Nobody bothers me anymore. I LOVE the Martial Arts!”
Review of Martial Arts Lessons for Kids in Goose Creek SC - Young Kid Review Profile
Peter L.
student

Charleston Self Defense Academy

Although many people think the martial arts are just about fighting, the truth is that the physical “kicking and punching” are really just the tools that I use to teach the more important, and MUCH more valuable lessons about yourself.

© Charleston Self Defense Academy All rights reserved | Powered by Amazing Martial Arts Websites